Submit  |   Chinese  | 
 
Advanced Search
   Home  |  Online Now  |  Current Issue  |  Focus  |  Archive  |  For Authors  |  Journal Information   Open Access  
Submit  |   Chinese  | 
Current Issue
Table of Contents Previous Issue    Next Issue
Volume 2 • Issue 2 • June 2016 • Pages 149 -282
News & Highlights
Views & Comments
Research
    • iCity & Big Data
About the cover
For Selected: View Abstracts Toggle Thumbnails
News & Highlights
The Passing of an Era
Lance A. Davis
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 149 -150 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.001
Abstract   HTML   PDF (376KB)
 
References | Related Articles | Metrics
Engineering Excellence
Lance A. Davis
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 151 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.002
Abstract   HTML   PDF (368KB)
 
References | Related Articles | Metrics
First Stage Recovery
Lance A. Davis
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 152 -153 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.007
Abstract   HTML   PDF (560KB)
 
Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Views & Comments
How to Avoid and Mitigate Stress in Megacities
Peter Sachsenmeier
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 154 -155 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.014
Abstract   HTML   PDF (379KB)
 
References | Related Articles | Metrics
Research
Smart Cities as Cyber-Physical Social Systems
Christos G. Cassandras
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 156 -158 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.012
Abstract   HTML   PDF (836KB)

The emerging prototype for a Smart City is one of an urban environment with a new generation of innovative services for transportation, energy distribution, healthcare, environmental monitoring, business, commerce, emergency response, and social activities. Enabling the technology for such a setting requires a viewpoint of Smart Cities as cyber-physical systems (CPSs) that include new software platforms and strict requirements for mobility, security, safety, privacy, and the processing of massive amounts of information. This paper identifies some key defining characteristics of a Smart City, discusses some lessons learned from viewing them as CPSs, and outlines some fundamental research issues that remain largely open.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Autonomous Driving in the iCity—HD Maps as a Key Challenge of the Automotive Industry
Heiko G. Seif, Xiaolong Hu
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 159 -162 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.010
Abstract   HTML   PDF (1884KB)

This article provides in-depth insights into the necessary technologies for automated driving in future cities. State of science is reflected from different perspectives such as in-car computing and data management, road side infrastructure, and cloud solutions. Especially the challenges for the application of HD maps as core technology for automated driving are depicted in this article.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Big Data Research in Italy: A Perspective
Sonia Bergamaschi,Emanuele Carlini,Michelangelo Ceci,Barbara Furletti,Fosca Giannotti,Donato Malerba,Mario Mezzanzanica,Anna Monreale,Gabriella Pasi,Dino Pedreschi,Raffele Perego,Salvatore Ruggieri
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 163 -170 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.011
Abstract   HTML   PDF (499KB)

The aim of this article is to synthetically describe the research projects that a selection of Italian universities is undertaking in the context of big data. Far from being exhaustive, this article has the objective of offering a sample of distinct applications that address the issue of managing huge amounts of data in Italy, collected in relation to diverse domains.

References | Related Articles | Metrics
Urban Big Data and the Development of City Intelligence
Yunhe Pan, Yun Tian, Xiaolong Liu, Dedao Gu, Gang Hua
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 171 -178 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.003
Abstract   HTML   PDF (889KB)

This study provides a definition for urban big data while exploring its features and applications of China’s city intelligence. The differences between city intelligence in China and the “smart city” concept in other countries are compared to highlight and contrast the unique definition and model for China’s city intelligence in this paper. Furthermore, this paper examines the role of urban big data in city intelligence by showing that it not only serves as the cornerstone of this trend as it also plays a core role in the diffusion of city intelligence technology and serves as an inexhaustible resource for the sustained development of city intelligence. This study also points out the challenges of shaping and developing of China’s urban big data. Considering the supporting and core role that urban big data plays in city intelligence, the study then expounds on the key points of urban big data, including infrastructure support, urban governance, public services, and economic and industrial development. Finally, this study points out that the utility of city intelligence as an ideal policy tool for advancing the goals of China’s urban development. In conclusion, it is imperative that China make full use of its unique advantages—including using the nation’s current state of development and resources, geographical advantages, and good human relations—in subjective and objective conditions to promote the development of city intelligence through the proper application of urban big data.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Strategies and Principles of Distributed Machine Learning on Big Data
Eric P. Xing,Qirong Ho,Pengtao Xie,Dai Wei
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 179 -195 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.008
Abstract   HTML   PDF (5197KB)

The rise of big data has led to new demands for machine learning (ML) systems to learn complex models, with millions to billions of parameters, that promise adequate capacity to digest massive datasets and offer powerful predictive analytics (such as high-dimensional latent features, intermediate representations, and decision functions) thereupon. In order to run ML algorithms at such scales, on a distributed cluster with tens to thousands of machines, it is often the case that significant engineering efforts are required—and one might fairly ask whether such engineering truly falls within the domain of ML research. Taking the view that “big” ML systems can benefit greatly from ML-rooted statistical and algorithmic insights—and that ML researchers should therefore not shy away from such systems design—we discuss a series of principles and strategies distilled from our recent efforts on industrial-scale ML solutions. These principles and strategies span a continuum from application, to engineering, and to theoretical research and development of big ML systems and architectures, with the goal of understanding how to make them efficient, generally applicable, and supported with convergence and scaling guarantees. They concern four key questions that traditionally receive little attention in ML research: How can an ML program be distributed over a cluster? How can ML computation be bridged with inter-machine communication? How can such communication be performed? What should be communicated between machines? By exposing underlying statistical and algorithmic characteristics unique to ML programs but not typically seen in traditional computer programs, and by dissecting successful cases to reveal how we have harnessed these principles to design and develop both high-performance distributed ML software as well as general-purpose ML frameworks, we present opportunities for ML researchers and practitioners to further shape and enlarge the area that lies between ML and systems.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
The City Intelligence Quotient (City IQ) Evaluation System: Conception and Evaluation
Zhiqiang Wu,Yunhe Pan,Qiming Ye,Lingyu Kong
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 196 -211 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.009
Abstract   HTML   PDF (4807KB)

After a systematic review of 38 current intelligent city evaluation systems (ICESs) from around the world, this research analyzes the secondary and tertiary indicators of these 38 ICESs from the perspectives of scale structuring, approaches and indicator selection, and determines their common base. From this base, the fundamentals of the City Intelligence Quotient (City IQ) Evaluation System are developed and five dimensions are selected after a clustering analysis. The basic version, City IQ Evaluation System 1.0, involves 275 experts from 14 high-end research institutions, which include the Chinese Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Science and Engineering (Germany), the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the Planning Management Center of the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of China, and the Development Research Center of the State Council of China. City IQ Evaluation System 2.0 is further developed, with improvements in its universality, openness, and dynamic adjustment capability. After employing deviation evaluation methods in the IQ assessment, City IQ Evaluation System 3.0 was conceived. The research team has conducted a repeated assessment of 41 intelligent cities around the world using City IQ Evaluation System 3.0. The results have proved that the City IQ Evaluation System, developed on the basis of intelligent life, features more rational indicators selected from data sources that can offer better universality, openness, and dynamics, and is more sensitive and precise.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Non-IID Recommender Systems: A Review and Framework of Recommendation Paradigm Shifting
Longbing Cao
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 212 -224 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.013
Abstract   HTML   PDF (2275KB)

While recommendation plays an increasingly critical role in our living, study, work, and entertainment, the recommendations we receive are often for irrelevant, duplicate, or uninteresting products and services. A critical reason for such bad recommendations lies in the intrinsic assumption that recommended users and items are independent and identically distributed (IID) in existing theories and systems. Another phenomenon is that, while tremendous efforts have been made to model specific aspects of users or items, the overall user and item characteristics and their non-IIDness have been overlooked. In this paper, the non-IID nature and characteristics of recommendation are discussed, followed by the non-IID theoretical framework in order to build a deep and comprehensive understanding of the intrinsic nature of recommendation problems, from the perspective of both couplings and heterogeneity. This non-IID recommendation research triggers the paradigm shift from IID to non-IID recommendation research and can hopefully deliver informed, relevant, personalized, and actionable recommendations. It creates exciting new directions and fundamental solutions to address various complexities including cold-start, sparse data-based, cross-domain, group-based, and shilling attack-related issues.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Industry 5.0—The Relevance and Implications of Bionics and Synthetic Biology
Peter Sachsenmeier
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 225 -229 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.015
Abstract   HTML   PDF (452KB)

Bionics (the imitation or abstraction of the “inventions of nature) and, to an even greater extent, synthetic biology, will be as relevant to engineering development and industry as the silicon chip was over the last 50 years. Chemical industries already use so-called “white biotechnology” for new processes, new raw materials, and more sustainable use of resources. Synthetic biology is also used for the development of second-generation biofuels and for harvesting the sun's energy with the help of tailor-made microorganisms or biometrically designed catalysts. The market potential for bionics in medicine, engineering processes, and DNA storage is huge. “Moonshot” projects are already aggressively focusing on diseases and new materials, and a US-led competition is currently underway with the aim of creating a thousand new molecules. This article describes a timeline that starts with current projects and then moves on to code engineering projects and their implications, artificial DNA, signaling molecules, and biological circuitry. Beyond these projects, one of the next frontiers in bionics is the design of synthetic metabolisms that include artificial food chains and foods, and the bioengineering of raw materials; all of which will lead to new insights into biological principles. Bioengineering will be an innovation motor just as digitalization is today. This article discusses pertinent examples of bioengineering, particularly the use of alternative carbon-based biofuels and the techniques and perils of cell modification. Big data, analytics, and massive storage are important factors in this next frontier. Although synthetic biology will be as pervasive and transformative in the next 50 years as digitization and the Internet are today, its applications and impacts are still in nascent stages. This article provides a general taxonomy in which the development of bioengineering is classified in five stages (DNA analysis, bio-circuits, minimal genomes, protocells, xenobiology) from the familiar to the unknown, with implications for safety and security, industrial development, and the development of bioengineering and biotechnology as an interdisciplinary field. Ethical issues and the importance of a public debate about the consequences of bionics and synthetic biology are discussed.

References | Related Articles | Metrics
Mechanism of the December 2015 Catastrophic Landslide at the Shenzhen Landfill and Controlling Geotechnical Risks of Urbanization
Yueping Yin,Bin Li,Wenpei Wang,Liangtong Zhan,Qiang Xue,Yang Gao,Nan Zhang,Hongqi Chen,Tiankui Liu,Aiguo Li
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 230 -249 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.005
Abstract   HTML   PDF (10134KB)

This paper presents findings from an investigation of the large-scale construction solid waste (CSW) landslide that occurred at a landfill at Shenzhen, Guangdong, China, on December 20, 2015, and which killed 77 people and destroyed 33 houses. The landslide involved 2.73×106 m3 of CSW and affected an area about 1100?m in length and 630?m in maximum width, making it the largest landfill landslide in the world. The investigation of this disaster used a combination of unmanned aerial vehicle surveillance and multistage remote-sensing images to reveal the increasing volume of waste in the landfill and the shifting shape of the landfill slope for nearly two years before the landslide took place, beginning with the creation of the CSW landfill in March, 2014, that resulted in the uncertain conditions of the landfill’s boundaries and the unstable state of the hydrologic performance. As a result, applying conventional stability analysis methods used for natural landslides to this case would be difficult. In order to analyze this disaster, we took a multistage modeling technique to analyze the varied characteristics of the landfill slope’s structure at various stages of CSW dumping and used the non-steady?flow?theory to explain the groundwater seepage problem. The investigation showed that the landfill could be divided into two units based on the moisture in the land: ① a front uint, consisted of the landfill slope, which had low water content; and ② a rear unit, consisted of fresh waste, which had a high water content. This structure caused two effects—surface-water infiltration and consolidation seepage that triggered the landslide in the landfill. Surface-water infiltration induced a gradual increase in pore water pressure head, or piezometric head, in the front slope because the infiltrating position rose as the volume of waste placement increased. Consolidation seepage led to higher excess pore water pressures as the loading of waste increased. We also investigated the post-failure soil dynamics parameters of the landslide deposit using cone penetration, triaxial, and ring-shear tests in order to simulate the characteristics of a flowing slide with a long run-out due to the liquefaction effect. Finally, we conclude the paper with lessons from the tens of catastrophic landslides of municipal solid waste around the world and discuss how to better manage the geotechnical risks of urbanization.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
Exploiting Additive Manufacturing Infill in Topology Optimization for Improved Buckling Load
Anders Clausen, Niels Aage, Ole Sigmund
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 250 -257 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.006
Abstract   HTML   PDF (2383KB)

Additive manufacturing (AM) permits the fabrication of functionally optimized components with high geometrical complexity. The opportunity of using porous infill as an integrated part of the manufacturing process is an example of a unique AM feature. Automated design methods are still incapable of fully exploiting this design freedom. In this work, we show how the so-called coating approach to topology optimization provides a means for designing infill-based components that possess a strongly improved buckling load and, as a result, improved structural stability. The suggested approach thereby addresses an important inadequacy of the standard minimum compliance topology optimization approach, in which buckling is rarely accounted for; rather, a satisfactory buckling load is usually assured through a post-processing step that may lead to sub-optimal components. The present work compares the standard and coating approaches to topology optimization for the MBB beam benchmark case. The optimized structures are additively manufactured using a filamentary technique. This experimental study validates the numerical model used in the coating approach. Depending on the properties of the infill material, the buckling load may be more than four times higher than that of solid structures optimized under the same conditions.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
A Study on Triacylglycerol Composition and the Structure of High-Oleic Rapeseed Oil
Mei Guan, Hong Chen, Xinghua Xiong, Xin Lu, Xun Li, Fenghong Huang, Chunyun Guan
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 258 -262 .   DOI: 10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.004
Abstract   HTML   PDF (482KB)

The composition of fatty acids in triacylglycerides (TAGs) and their position on the glycerol backbone determine the nutritional value of vegetable oil. In this study, gas chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry (HPLC-MS/MS) were used to analyze the composition and distribution of fatty acids in TAGs of different rapeseed oils. Our results show the content of oleic acid in high-oleic-acid rapeseed oil to be about 80%. In terms of the number of acyl carbon atoms (CN), TAGs with CN52–C54 were most abundant, with a maximum concentration at CN54 (80%). The main type of TAG was oleic-oleic-oleic (OOO), accounting for 71.75%, while oleic-oleic-linoleic (OOL) accounted for 7.56%, oleic-oleic-linolenic (OOLn) accounted for 4.81%, and stearic-oleic-oleic (SOO) accounted for 4.74%. Oleic acid in high-oleic-acid rapeseed oil was distributed in the following order of preference: sn-2?>?sn-1/3. In high-erucic-acid rapeseed oil, however, oleic acid was enriched at the sn-1/3. These data show that the content of oleic acid can be as high as about 80% in high-oleic-acid material. This finding suggests that high-oleic-acid rapeseed oil has high nutritional value.

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
15 articles
Most Popular
Most Read
Most Download
Most Cited

Copyright © 2015 Higher Education Press & Engineering Sciences Press, All Rights Reserved.
Today's visits ;Accumulated visits . 京ICP备11030251号-2

 Engineering

投稿  |   English  | 
 
高级检索
   首页  |  最新收录  |  当期目录  |  过刊浏览  |  作者中心  |  关于期刊   开放获取  
投稿  |   English  | 
当期目录
文章列表 上一期    下一期
Volume 2 • Issue 2 • • Pages 149 -282
封面介绍
全选: 全部摘要 缩略图
一个时代的终结
Davis Lance A.
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 149 -150 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.001
摘要   PDF (376KB)
 
References | Related Articles | Metrics
德雷珀杰出工程奖
Davis Lance A.
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 151 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.002
摘要   PDF (368KB)
 
References | Related Articles | Metrics
第一级火箭回收
Davis Lance A.
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 152 -153 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.007
摘要   PDF (560KB)
 
Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
如何避免或缓和大城市的压力
Sachsenmeier Peter
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 154 -155 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.014
摘要   PDF (379KB)
References | Related Articles | Metrics
信息物理——社会系统视角下的智能城市
Cassandras Christos G.
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 156 -158 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.012
摘要   PDF (836KB)

新兴智慧城市是城市环境的新一代创新服务,包括交通、能源分布、医疗、环境监测、商务、商业、紧急响应和社会活动。要想实现这种为城市场景服务的各项技术,需要将智慧城市视为一个整体的信息物理融合系统(CPS),这其中包括新的移动软件平台和对治安、安全、隐私和大量信息处理的严格要求。本文旨在确定智慧城市的关键特征,进而讨论了一些由CPS 观点出发而得出的经验教训,并概述了一些空白领域的基础研究内容。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
智能城市(iCity) 中自动驾驶汽车工业的关键挑战——高清地图
Seif Heiko G.,龙胡晓
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 159 -162 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.010
摘要   PDF (1884KB)

本文对未来城市中自动驾驶的必要技术进行了深入的分析,从车载电脑运算、数据处理、路边基础设施和云解决方案等不同方面反映了科技的发展状况,主要对自动驾驶的核心技术——高清地图的应用所带来的挑战进行了描述。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
大数据研究在意大利的远景
Bergamaschi Sonia,Carlini Emanuele,Ceci Michelangelo,Furletti Barbara,Giannotti Fosca,Malerba Donato,Mezzanzanica Mario,Monreale Anna,Pasi Gabriella,Pedreschi Dino,Perego Raffele,Ruggieri Salvatore
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 163 -170 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.011
摘要   PDF (499KB)

这篇文章的目的在于综述在大数据背景下一些意大利大学正在从事的研究项目。本文不求面面俱到,目的是提供从意大利不同领域收集到的有关大数据管理方面的问题的实际解决方案。

References | Related Articles | Metrics
城市大数据与城市智能化发展
潘云鹤,田沄,刘晓龙,顾德道,华岗
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 171 -178 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.003
摘要   PDF (889KB)

本文探讨了城市大数据的概念,明确了城市大数据的特点,并依据处理方法和应用目标对中国城市大数据进行了分类;分析了中国城市智能化同其他国家“智慧城市”的区别,给出了中国城市智能化的定义,并提出了中国城市智能化的模型;明确了城市大数据在城市智能化中的作用,即城市大数据是城市智能化的基础和核心,是城市智能化持续发展的不竭动力;指出了中国城市大数据发展面临的问题和挑战;针对城市大数据在城市智能化中的支撑和核心作用,提出了城市大数据的建设重点,包括:基础支撑、城市治理、公共服务以及经济和产业发展等;指出了城市智能化的应用是推动中国城市发展的极妙抓手。当前,中国具备天时、地利、人和的独特优势,应充分借助城市大数据,促进城市智能化向高水平发展。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
大数据的分布式机器学习的策略与原则
Xing Eric P.,Ho Qirong,Xie Pengtao,Wei Dai
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 179 -195 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.008
摘要   PDF (5197KB)

大数据的发展已经引领了对能够学习包含数百万至数十亿参数的复杂模型的机器学习系统的新需求,以保证足够的能力来消化海量的数据集,提供强大的预测分析(如高维潜特征、中介表示和决策功能)。为了在这样的尺度上,在成百上千台的分布式机器集群中运行机器学习算法,关键往往是要投入显著的工程性的努力——有人可能会问,这样的工程是否还属于机器学习的研究领域?考虑到如此“大”的机器学习系统可以极大地从根植于机器学习的统计和算法的理解中受益——因此,机器学习的研究人员应该不会回避这样的系统设计——我们讨论了一系列从我们近来对工程尺度的机器学习解决方案的研究中提炼的原则和策略。这些原则和策略从机器学习的应用连续跨越到它的工程和理论研究,以及大型机器学习的系统和架构的发展,目标是了解如何使其有效、广泛地适用,并以收敛和缩放保证支持。它们关注的是机器学习研究传统上注意较少的四个关键问题:一个机器学习程序怎样能分布到一个集群中去?机器学习计算怎样能通过机器间的交流连接起来?这样的交流是如何被执行的?机器间应该交流的内容是什么?通过揭示机器学习程序所独有的,而非常见于传统计算机程序中的基础性的统计和算法上的特点,并通过剖析成功案例,以揭示我们如何利用这些原则来同时设计和开发高性能的分布式机器学习软件以及通用的机器学习框架,我们为机器学习的研究人员和从业者提供了进一步塑造并扩大机器学习与系统之间的领域的机会。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
智能城市评价指标体系(City IQ Evaluation System): 研制过程与应用
吴志强,潘云鹤,叶启明,孔翎聿
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 196 -211 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.009
摘要   PDF (4807KB)

本文对全球38 组现有的智能城市评价指标体系进行了系统的梳理分析后,依据体系建构、方法与指标选取等方面的特点,详细剖析了38 组现有系统的二级指标和三级指标,以此归类分析后,确定智能城市评价指标体系(City IQ Evaluation System) 的通用基础。通过聚类分析,得到5 个维度。依托中国工程院、德国工程院、瑞典皇家工程院、住房和城乡建设部规划管理中心、国务院发展研究中心等在内的共14 个单位的275 位专家,通过指标筛选、指标调整和数据标准化处理,完成了City IQ Evaluation System-1.0 基础版本的研制。并通过对指标数据源更普适、开放、动态的调整,得到了改进后的City IQ Evaluation System-2.0 版本,引入IQ 测评的偏差测智法得到了City IQ Evaluation System-3.0 版本。研究团队基于City IQ Evaluation System 对全球41 个智能城市进行多轮测评。综合来看,City IQ Evaluation System 系列评价指标体系的特点包括:以智能生命体理论作支撑,以更普适、开放、动态的数据源形成指标,并以IQ 测评的思想和方法提升City IQEvaluation System 的灵敏性和准确性。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
非独立同分布推荐系统:推荐范式转换的综述和框架
Cao Longbing
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 212 -224 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.013
摘要   PDF (2275KB)

虽然推荐系统在我们的生活、学习、工作和娱乐中扮演着越来越重要的角色,但是很多时候我们收到的推荐都是不相关的、重复的,或者包含不感兴趣的产品和服务。这些差的推荐系统产生的原因来源于一个本征假设:传统的理论和推荐系统认为用户和物品是独立同分布的(IID)。另一个明显的现象是,虽然投入了很多的精力模拟用户或者物品的特殊属性,但用户和物品的总体属性及它们之间的非独立同分布性(non-IID) 被忽略了。本文先讨论了推荐系统的非独立同分布性,紧接着介绍了非独立同分布性原理,目的是从耦合和异构性的角度来深入阐述传统的推荐系统的固有本质。这种非独立同分布推荐系统引起了传统推荐系统范式的转化—— 从独立同分布向非独立同分布进行转化,希望能够形成高效的、相关性高的、个人订制和可操作的推荐系统。这种系统创造了令人兴奋的能够解决包含冷启动、以稀疏数据为基础、跨域、基于群组信息和欺诈攻击等各种复杂情况的新的研究方向和解决方案。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
工业5.0——仿生学和合成生物学的关联及内涵
Sachsenmeier Peter
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 225 -229 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.015
摘要   PDF (452KB)

仿生学(模仿生物特殊本领的学科) 以及合成生物学,将和过去50 年的硅芯片一样与工程开发、工业发展产生紧密联系。化学工业已经将白色生物技术应用于新工艺、新材料和资源的可持续利用中。合成生物学也已经应用到第二代生物燃料的发展中,并利用特制的微生物或生物制催化剂获取太阳能。而仿生学在制药、处理工程以及DNA 存储领域的市场潜力是巨大的。“登月计划”(ProjectMoonshot) 已经明确把医疗和新材料作为关注点,一场始于美国的创造大量新分子的竞争已经开始。本文首先概述了当前的一些项目,接下来探讨了代码工程(code engineering) 及其影响,包括脱氧核糖核酸(DNA) 人工合成、信号分子以及生物回路。除此之外,还探讨了涉及人造食物链和食物的仿生学前沿——合成代谢,以及原材料生物工程。这些研究将给生物学带来新思考。生物工程将和今天的数字化技术一样驱动创新。本文讨论了生物工程,特别是碳基生物燃料的应用和细胞饰变的技术与风险。大数据、分析学和海量存储将是未来的发展方向。虽然合成生物学在未来50 年将和当今的数字化一样普遍且具有革新能力,但是目前它的应用和影响力还处在初级阶段。本文采用了将生物工程发展分为五个阶段(DNA 分析、生物回路、最小基因组、原始细胞、异源生物学)的普遍分类方法,阐述了其对安全与保障、工业发展以及生物工程和生物技术作为跨学科领域发展的影响,同时讨论了伦理问题及公众对仿生学和合成生物学结果的公众讨论的重要性。

References | Related Articles | Metrics
深圳“12·20”渣土场灾难滑坡成灾机理与岩土工程风险控制研究
殷跃平,李滨,王文沛,詹良通,薛强,高杨,张楠,陈红旗,刘天奎,李爱国
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 230 -249 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.005
摘要   PDF (10134KB)

2015 年12 月 20 日,广东省深圳市光明新区建筑渣土场发生滑坡,造成77 人遇难、33 栋建筑物被毁。 现场勘察、无人机3D 摄影测量、多期遥感影像动态分析表明,该滑坡源区滑带倾角仅4°,滑程长 达1100 m,最大堆积宽度为630 m,体积约为2.73 × 106 m3,是目前世界上最大的渣土场滑坡。 自2014 年3 月开始建设渣土场以来,堆填体积逐级增加、坡型不断变化,滑坡边界条件和水文特 性具有不确定性。本文提出了多级建模方法以研究不同堆填阶段下坡体结构的变化特征,采用非 稳定流理论模拟了地下水渗流场的演化特征。分析表明,渣土场可以划分为具有低含水率的前缘 边坡和具有高含水率( 含底部积水) 的后缘渣土堆填体两个亚区。这种特殊的二元结构带来了两种 效应:第一,地表水入渗,后缘渣土堆填的地表水入渗位置随填土的增高而逐渐抬升,导致了前 缘坡体超孔隙水压力水头逐渐增大;第二,固结渗流,在后缘渣土堆填区上部的渣土堆载导致下 部饱水渣土体产生超静孔压,形成底部饱水软弱滑带,并促使地下水逐渐向前缘坡体渗流。两种 效应的叠加导致了坡体稳定性降低,引发了前缘的液化失稳,最终导致了整体滑动。通过静力触探、 大型三轴和环剪试验获得了滑坡的土动力学参数,对远程滑动的成灾过程的模拟表明,滑体运动 的最大速度约为29.8 m·s–1,最大堆积厚度约为23 m,滑坡主体滑动时间约为130 s,视摩擦角为6°。 最后,对比分析了全球近期发生的多起渣土场滑坡灾难,从技术上看,这些风险大多是可预见的, 但是,由于非技术原因往往未被预见到,因此,需要加强城镇化岩土工程的技术和非技术风险的 管控。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
拓扑优化中采用增材制造填充构件的结构屈曲荷载提升设计
Clausen Anders,Aage Niels,Sigmund Ole
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 250 -257 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.006
摘要   PDF (2383KB)

增材制造可实现优质多功能构件所具有的高度复杂几何构型的制备。可以直接制备内含多孔填充的结构部件是其独有特征的一个例证。现有的设计方法还难以充分利用这一设计自由度,直接获得类似结构的设计。本文将展示涂层方法 (coating approach) 的拓扑优化方法来作为多孔填充构件的设计方法,所设计的构件具有显著改进的临界屈曲载荷,从而使得整体结构部件的稳定性增强。传统的柔顺性拓扑优化方法极少在数学模型中考虑构件的屈曲约束,稳定性要求通常要经过后续的校核与改进过程满足。这一后续过程往往只能获得次优设计。本文所展示的方法弥补了传统柔顺性拓扑优化模型中难以考虑构件屈曲约束的缺陷。利用涂层拓扑优化方法与传统柔顺性拓扑优化同时对经典的MBB 梁进行设计,并采用熔丝增材制造技术对设计结果进行了制备。实验结果验证了涂层方法的数学模型的正确性。由于填充材料的性质,在相同条件下,涂层优化得到的多孔填充结构的屈曲载荷比传统优化得到的实体结构高四倍以上。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
高油酸油菜中甘油三酯的组成及结构研究
官梅,陈洪,熊兴华,吕昕,李栒,黄凤洪,官春云
Engineering . 2016, 2 (2): 258 -262 .   https://doi.org/10.1016/J.ENG.2016.02.004
摘要   PDF (482KB)

植物油中甘油三酯(TAG)的脂肪酸组成及其在甘油主链上的位置决定了植物油脂的营养价值。本研究采用气相色谱法(GC)和高效液相色谱– 串联质谱联用(HPLC-MS/MS)分析了不同油酸含量的甘蓝型油菜籽油的甘油三酯的脂肪酸组成和结构。结果表明:高油酸油菜籽油的油酸含量为80%左右。TAG酰基总碳数(CN值)为54的甘油三酯的相对含量占80%以上。主要的甘油三酯为OOO,相对含量最高达71.75%,其次是OOL 7.56%、OOLn 4.81%和SOO 4.74%。在高油酸的品种中油酸主要集中在甘油三酯上的sn-2位,而在高芥酸品种中,油酸主要集中在甘油三酯上的sn-1/3位置。结果表明,高油酸油菜籽油是一种具有极高营养价值的植物油。

Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
15 articles
热点文章
阅读排行
下载排行
引用排行

国内刊号:CN10-1244/N    国际刊号:ISSN2095-8099
版权所有 © 2015 高等教育出版社  《中国工程科学》杂志社
京ICP备11030251号-2

 Engineering